Our regions

RESIST is working with a group of twelve regions across Europe to increase their resilience to the effects of climate change. Southwest Finland, Central Denmark, Catalonia and Central Portugal are the RESIST leading regions. They have been selected for their high level of vulnerability to climate change and their experience in climate change adaptation (CCA).

These four regions will lead the way for the twinning regions in the implementation of innovative solutions to tackle climate-related challenges. Each of the leading regions is paired with two equally vulnerable regions with less experience in CCA​. Normandy (France), Eastern Macedonia and Thrace (Greece), Blekinge (Sweeden), Zemgale (Latvia), Puglia (Italy), Baixo Alentejo (Portugal), Vesteralen (Norway), Extremadura (Spain) are the eight twinning regions.

Across Europe, regions are facing increasing floods, heatwaves, wildfires, drought, soil erosion and rising sea levels as a consequence of climate change. Local and regional governments and citizens are at the forefront of facing these climate-related impacts. The project is bringing together these stakeholder groups along with the research community and businesses to build long-lasting resilience pathways to climate change impacts.

Southwest Finland Normandie Eastern Macedonia & Thrace(Greece) Blekinge Zemgale Central Denmark Puglia Catalonia Baixo Alentejo Extremadura Vesteralen Central Portugal